Sept 20th – After SoCoded…

I went to the SoCoded conference in Hamburg on the 19/9/13.  It was really enjoyable. Lots of developers who came from all over the world, interesting talks and an appreciation of German efficiency! (ease in being able to find the conference’s location).

My presentation titled Contributing to Open Source

My talk was well received and commended by various people that came up to me after the talk. All the presenters scheduled to deliver lightning talks were given a maximum of 7 minutes each. I’m pretty sure I delivered mine in half that time because I was slightly nervous. I certainly intend to attend more tech conferences in future and deliver more presentations. It was fun. I met Julia, another RGSoC student, and swopped tales about our RGSoC projects and how much we were enjoying being part of Rails Girls. There were also some Rails Girls organizers there so it was nice to be able to meet some of the people behind RGSoC and chat with them.

All in all, I really enjoyed the experience. This was the first tech conference that I had attended and will definitely not be the last. It’s great to feel the enthusiasm and energy that passionate like-minded people have for their craft and inspires me to continue my quest to become a Ruby on Rails developer.

Leave a comment